Foster Fail 101

16 Jan

Foster Fail 101

I have been a Foster  Mom for The Collie Rescue Network for the past 12 years.  It has been so rewarding and at the same time so heart wrenching.   Some of my fosters were with me for only 2 weeks and the longest was 14 months.  What made me decide to foster??  I had a Blue Merle older puppy and I wanted to see if he needed a companion so thought this was the best way to test the waters. I mean if it didn’t work out “no problem” , the dog was going to be adopted to another home right?  Well that didn’t work out.  Isadora was my first foster and I failed fostering 101.  She was nine years old when she came as a foster. She was an “old ” nine year gal. Full of arthritis and slow moving.  Well a few weeks taking Glucosamine and the job of mothering a puppy she suddenly felt she had a job to do and perked right up. The change in her was amazing and she fit right in with Antrim, my cats and me.

IMG_0810

So we became a family of five.  Being a member of Collie Rescue Network (CRN)  I knew there were others that needed fostering.  To me it’s like being a blood donor…if you can do it then you should .  So my next foster came and stayed for about 2 months.

People say “how can you give them up, I couldn’t do what you do.”….Well the CRN really screens adoptive parents.  Some people who apply object to this and say they can go to the pound and get a dog without all the hassle.  Well we want the best for our Collies and them to have the Furever home they deserve.  These wonderful dogs come to our Rescue for different reasons.  I really don’t like the word “rescue” as to me it implies they have been saved from a bad situation .  This is not always true thank goodness.  Some of my fosters have been surrendurd  by their owners because they were moving to other provinces, they lost their jobs, their owner passed away or they did come from a bad situation.  The great thing is that they DID come to CRN where they were put in a foster home where they could receive whatever care they needed and stayed in a family environment  to be assessed to their likes and dislikes.  They are looked after like a family member and we learn every thing we can about them eg: cat friendly, dog friendly , any aggression issues, how they are with kids, how obedient are they etc.

To adopt one of CRN Collies you must first fill out an application to adopt and if you are interested in a particular Collie you state your interest in it.  Next you are contacted by our adoption co-ordinator . Then a conversation with the foster parent is arranged and any questions either side has are answered.  Next CRN arranges a home inspection to check out the possible new home for safety, who all lives there, are there children, other animals. where will the Collie be in the house etc.   If the home inspection goes well and all parties are satisfied then sometimes if it’s possible a “meet and greet”is arranged.

If that goes well and it’s a match we have another success story to tell.  There is an adoption fee which goes to CRN and no we don’t make money on “selling” Collies”. All of these Collies are Vet checked and up to date on shots.  Some that come to the rescue need major Vet care like my last foster’s vet bills came to $1500.00. CRN operates through donations and fund raisers.

So how can I give these dogs up after loving them and nurturing them ???? I can because I know they have been matched up with what we think is the perfect home.  The adopter also has to sign paperwork that if their situation changes they must give the Collie back to CRN.  So you see we try to find their Furever home…..not just any home.

I have now fostered 14 wonderful Collies and have loved every one of them but by knowing they were going to a great home I was able to “let them go” to make room for the next Collie who much needed a foster home.

Yes I failed my first fostering by adopting her but we say that failing in fostering is a good failing…and I am happy to say I have failed again on my 14 foster. Jessie is 10 and was in sad shape when she came to me 2 months ago. She needed healing and could not walk around the block and could hardly get up my 6 stairs. She also was a Blue Merle and looked so much like my beloved Antrim who has passed.  With a lot of loving, proper diet and a little meds she can now go around the block 5 times a day and the stairs are no problem at all.  It has been amazing to see how far she has come in such a short time and I couldn’t part with her because I want to be a big part in seeing just how far she can go.  Sometimes you just get one that steels your heart!  It doesn’t mean you still can’t foster…..she loves other dogs.Welcome to your Furever home Jessie….

DSCF2181.JPG

 

6 Responses to “Foster Fail 101”

  1. Mara January 16, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

    Good for you, Kerry. I’m so glad you have another forever companion. She looks just as beautiful as Antrim was handsome.

    • Kerry January 16, 2016 at 5:36 pm #

      I am so glad I made the decision….she is such a sweetheart.

  2. Nancy January 16, 2016 at 5:05 pm #

    Congratulations on your new girl Jessie!! She’s so beautiful! Can’t wait to meet her! xo

    • Kerry January 16, 2016 at 5:36 pm #

      You will love her Nancy

  3. opanatours January 16, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

    Congratulations Moms!!!! Great and informative post.  So happy for you guys.

    • Kerry January 17, 2016 at 9:39 am #

      Thanks Ems..she is a real sweetheart

Leave a Reply

